//
you're reading...
Travel

“Life is a Journey…

… pack accordingly” has to be one of my favourite quotes. It carries a number of levels of meaning in my mind… be prepared, be flexible, know that somewhere down the line you’re simply going to have to do laundry.

As I mentioned on Friday, ‘the Tour’ is back… the ‘journey’ continues.

At the end of March, I will be emigrating to Bangalore, India thanks to my wonderful wife landing (perhaps) her dream job. I’m doing the ‘dutiful husband’ bit and packing my bags to support my wife achieve her dreams – and our dreams. The 15-20 degree uplift is merely an added bonus.

Clearly the pace of this is somewhat manic – though interestingly isn’t a million miles off my previous notice. I have 12 and half days left in work as I type. I am a bit better prepared this time though as a) I have my PIO card in hand; b) we’ve seen this coming over the horizon (for what feels like forever thanks to one of the longest recruitment processes I’ve ever witnessed); and c) it’s probably something we’ve wanted to do again anyway.

We are ‘global citizens’. My wife is Indian. I am British. We have between us lived in several different countries we have visited literally scores… if spared, we will probably live in others… that’s exciting.

There are clearly downsides to this. I will be leaving Northern Ireland again which means being further away from my (now expanding) family. I won’t get to see much of them over the coming years, though I do intend to be home as often as possible and there are plans afoot to be home in July for a friends wedding and the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow – for which I’ve been accepted as a volunteer!

That said, these opportunities don’t come up in everyone’s life and we’d be foolish to say no… so we’ve said yes and we’re going!

Belfast to Bangalore

Belfast to Bangalore

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

