//
you're reading...
Education, Jobs, Travel

Bengaluru – Home

On Friday evening my parents brought me to Dublin Airport for the start of the next chapter of life – and the tour – as I was emigrating to India to join up with my wife. The journey itself, with Eithad and Jet Airways, was pretty unspectacular other than a ridiculously overcrowded terminal in Abu Dhabi.

I am thrilled to be back with my wife and excited to be back in India. I thoroughly enjoyed my last sojourn here between 2008 and 2010 so this trip is going to be part catching up on what I’ve missed, part seeing how the place has moved on (if at all) and part carving out new experiences and memories. It’s got the potential to be amazing.

We’ve moved into a 3 bedroom flat in the Ulsoor area of Bengaluru (the city’s new ‘Hindi’ moniker although it’s commonly known as Bangalore in the English speaking world). The flat is clean & fresh, on the 9th floor of a small development and has views over Ulsoor Lake. All told, we’ve done nicely on the accommodation front. More importantly, it has it’s own 15m pool and a table tennis table.

So far my time here as been (as you’d expect) reasonably centred around settling in and getting myself in order. The unpacking took a few hours, before Dina took me to meet some of her friends in the city – and cool people they were too – before crashing due to jet lag took priority. A massive ‘nap’ on Sunday (only the four hours) seemingly didn’t dampen my enthusiasm for a good sleep as I passed out early on Sunday as well – in fact, as I type this, I got up this morning at 0730 and haven’t even considered a nap… if this is actually a case of beating the lag, then it will be a new personal best for going East!

Yesterday saw me tidying up a few bits & bobs… CV orientated mostly as I contacted a number of folks and companies who I had some contact with prior to leaving the UK. Getting a job is important to me… I don’t want to be sitting around the house all day, every day, despite the ten sports channels on our HD cable box… honestly!

Today I’ve been working on my TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) course. This is ‘plan c’ (behind getting a real job and persuading my wife that I would be an excellent cook & cleaner), but in a peculiar way it’s probably the plan that has the most potential and the most appeal. When I get this qualification I’ll be in a position to teach in India – either in a school or as a tutor (probably the preference) – but also pretty much anywhere in the world. I have several friends who’ve taken several years out of their lives (or is that added several years in to their lives?) by travelling around Eastern Europe and Eastern Asia teaching English off the back of a TEFL qualification. It’s all rather exciting.

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

