//
you're reading...
Jobs

Balancing Act – I’m no gymnast

I’ve been in Bangalore for two full months now and in that time, I’ve managed to secure a job, we’ve bought a dog and generally it’s been quite busy. We’ve been building new friendships and I’ve done the occasional blog posting for a local website on what it’s like to be an expat in Bangalore. We also managed to squeeze a weekend in Mysore, whilst Dina has travelled to Hong Kong for her niece’s birthday.

With Cromwell on the scene it’s been a bit of an emotional roller coaster… I’m clearly a sop. Whilst I don’t mind leaving him at home whilst I go to work, I feel massively guilty about leaving him for a second time in the evenings after making it home! That’s made little things like going out for groceries, errands and dinner a real chore at times… I guess it’s just something I’ll have to get my head over.

Work has been going well. I’m teaching quite a bit at the moment to University under-graduates (mostly). The prep time is coming down as I get more confident and the classes are going to plan so far – which is good. It’s a pretty rewarding job to be honest, though the pay and the commute are significant drawbacks. Again, yesterday, I had to put up with a taxi driver deciding not to bother coming to pick me up… so after several frantic and (to be honest) downright forthright conversations later I managed to get a taxi to pick me up only 30 minutes after they were supposed to.

The commute is definitely the worst part of it all… it seems that about once a week some form of cock-up happens. It’s demoralising to be honest. If I get a day without a class I always work it from home. The ability to work with the puppy lazing around the house, taking him for a couple of walks a day definitely is  the ‘happy path’ and something that’s playing on my mind a bit – I want to make it a much more common occurrence.

June is shaping up to be much like May in truth as it’s going to be a case of working away and run of the mill life – before July & August’s jaunt back to the UK. It’ll continue to be a balancing act of Work, Commute, Home and on we go!

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

One thought on “Balancing Act – I’m no gymnast

  1. here is the research proving your Bangalore nightmare is common to all : http://www.fastcompany.com/1778893/worst-commutes-around-world

    Posted by shivashetty | July 16, 2014, 04:06

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

