//
you're reading...
Friends, Hobbies, Sport

2016 -New Opportunities to Revisit the things I enjoy

So a happy New Year!

It’s now 2016 and on this January 1st the year seems full of opportunities and hope. A year to try new things, or perhaps to reconnect with and revisit the things you once did, or once enjoyed.

I write this having not blogged in over a year – 15 months or so the stats box tells me. Yes, I’d like to do more blogging. I’m still away from Northern Ireland, indeed I have been since Spring 2014, so the purpose of this blog still exists.

In the weeks just past my wife & I did our first ‘home’ Christmas… it was our first home cooked Turkey and Ham, our first under the tree present opening. We’ve made our own new traditions… it’s for us to now keep them. At the same time, it’s led to a bit of introspection on how I keep in touch with my own family and I’m determined to be better at keeping in touch and seeing folks as time & resources permit.

I also went along on Boxing Day to watch some local football. As you may know I’m in to my football and Boxing day is a day to watch football – every year in Northern Ireland, my father & I would attend the ‘Mid-Ulster Derby’ between Portadown & Glenavon. Whilst my adventure to Champion Hill Stadium wasn’t as involved as my usual haunt, it was enjoyable to be there amongst football people, get worked up by the officials and see some entertaining sport. Dulwich Hamlet beat Kingstonians 5-1. I’m aiming to see more local football as the year progresses.

I’ll also be, all being well, heading to France in the summer to watch Northern Ireland, who qualified for their first ever European Championships. I was in India for the first half of qualification and missed out on some of the big results, however I was in Belfast the night we beat Greece and booked our place as group winners in the draw. We’ve drawn Ukraine, Poland and current World Champions Germany – who we’ll be playing at the Parc Des Princes in Paris, a ‘proper’ football stadium with history and design. To say it makes me a bit giddy thinking about it would be an understatement.

In mid-December I also had my birthday… an event that doesn’t really make me overly anything, anymore. Was I excited? Possibly, however I wasn’t keen on any fuss. Indeed as I had days to book off in work before the end of the year, I booked my time, ordered Assassin’s Creed (in fact three games from the franchise) and happily set to liberating the world from Templars as Altir Ibn-La’Ahad! I’m currently doing by bit as Ezio Auditore da Firenze… as they say, ‘wasted time enjoyed is not time wasted’ – or something to that effect.

So a return to expression, family, football, travel and gaming… 2016 is certainly full of possibilities!

About Mcfaggen

Having grown up in Co. Fermanagh where most of my family still reside, I thought it would be worthwhile to keep a blog of my travels around the rest of the UK, Europe and the World.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Finbar On Tour on WordPress.com

Join 325 other followers

